TWEETS FOR LIBRARIES THRIVING

libsthriving What book is a consensus fave of your patrons/users so far this summer?
libsthriving If you could add one thing to your library without having to jump through budget hoops to do it, what would it be?
libsthriving 68% of students use the library for research only monthly or semesterly. See how librarians engage them in reference: http://t.co/ntew7i9eTe
libsthriving Books are not made for furniture, but there is nothing else that so beautifully furnishes a house. ~ Henry Ward Beecher
libsthriving Reports of the death of reference have been greatly exaggerated. Take a look at the new age of academic reference: http://t.co/ntew7i9eTe

Follow Us on Facebook

Fall 2011 Seminar Abstracts and Recordings

Credo Reference Online Seminar Series—Fall 2011

How are Libraries Thriving in the Digital Age?

 

Primary Sources, Information Literacy and Academic Support

Tuesday, October 25, 1PM EST/10AM PST/6PM UTC and Thursday, October 27, 10AM EST/7AM PST/3PM UTC

As part of the collaboration between Libraries Thriving and the National Forum on Information Literacy (NFIL), Dr. Lana Jackman, President of the NFIL, will present an educational seminar about information literacy in honor of October as National Information Literacy Awareness Month. This discussion will be interactive and include examples of primary sources, such as Library of Congress materials, and opportunities to collaborate with your community, such as the Boys and Girls Clubs.

Click Here to View the Seminar Recording

 

Libraries Thriving and MultiGrain Sponsored Debate: Are Libraries Thriving?

Friday, November 4, 12:30PM EST/9:30AM PST/4:30PM UTC

With low usage and shrinking budgets, libraries are challenged to justify resource investments now more than ever. At the same time, information users are ill-prepared to navigate the quantity and quality of content on the web. This creates a tremendous opportunity for libraries to show that they are well-equipped to help users navigate information resources and for users to benefit from this guidance.

With this in mind, Libraries Thriving and Against the Grain's MultiGrain wonder: are libraries actually thriving? To answer this question, these two online communities are teaming up to sponsor an Oxford-style live debate, including audience participation and voting, at the upcoming Charleston Conference. You're invited to participate in the online discussion going on now and to join the live debate online. So, which side are you on?

Click Here to View the Seminar Recording

 

 

E-Everything: Reflecting on Putting it All Together

Tuesday, December 6, 1PM EST/10AM PST/6PM UTC

Presenters: Peter McCracken (ShipIndex), Cory Tucker (University of Nevada), Mark Johnson (HighWire Press)

Click Here to View the Seminar Recording

 

Thursday, December 8, 10AM EST/7AM PST/3PM UTC

Presenters: Peter McCracken (ShipIndex), Stephen Rhind-Tutt (Alexander Street Press), Mark Johnson (HighWire Press)

Click Here to View the Seminar Recording

 

At this year's Charleston Conference, Audrey Powers, a Research Librarian for the University of Florida, joined a knowledgeable team of information professionals for a preconference focusing on innovative approaches to e-resource delivery and access. After hosting the preconference session in November, Audrey, together with some of the colleagues who attended the Charleston session, will be joining us on Libraries Thriving to present again and to lead a discussion about e-resource innovation.